Straight Razor shave with 2 hands

Twelvefret

Forum GOD!
@Merkurologist - good technique there. I really wish I’d started with two hands as I can see definite advantages. However, I was completely self taught (no videos) and after more than 10 years of using straights I just can’t be bothered with going through another learning period. Incidentally, the point where single handed shaving obscures your vision -left cheek by right hand with me - is no real problem, you just have to trust the feel of the blade. I could actually close my eyes for those few strokes.

@Twelvefret - good to see that old video again - not a convex hone in sight!!
Not to participate in any thread drift, but I do agree that none in sight…lol!! 👍

Twelvefret

Forum GOD!
Not much of an assumption there as most people were taught how to shave either directly or by mimicking how others shaved. Yes that is how they shaved using a straight razor back when Billy was young. The two handed method has been past down for generations as that is the easiest way to shave with a straight razor to see what you are doing. If shaving one handed with a straight razor was easier you can bet that would have been past down over several hundred years instead. There is nothing to block you view when using DEs/SEs/Carts using only one hand and that is the way most of us were taught to use them, one handed.

Bob
You are a wealth of information, Bob.

Merkurologist

Forum GOD!
@Merkurologist - good technique there. I really wish I’d started with two hands as I can see definite advantages. However, I was completely self taught (no videos) and after more than 10 years of using straights I just can’t be bothered with going through another learning period. Incidentally, the point where single handed shaving obscures your vision -left cheek by right hand with me - is no real problem, you just have to trust the feel of the blade. I could actually close my eyes for those few strokes.