Newbie here- evaluate my setup!

Hello all! I’m new to the forum and I’ve been using a safety razor for about five weeks now. I had been using Dollar Shave Club cartridges for the past several years. While browsing Walmart I spotted a Van Der Hagen safety razor and it got me interested. On a whim I used some pocket change to buy this-
2227B512-188E-4C9B-85D6-BC648232D581.jpeg

It came with all you see here for $49.50- a Gentleman Jon (henceforth abbreviated GJ) safety razor with five Astra blades, badger brush, alum block, shave soap puck and a tiny thimble for lathering.

Since that time I have purchased and switched to Viking Revolution (VR) Sandalwood Shave Cream. I also ordered a 100-count blade sampler pack with 18 different brands. So far I have really enjoyed the shave cream. I haven’t been using any pre-shave oil or aftershave. I’ve been using the GJ DE razor, brush and bowl. After four weeks of using the Astra blades (replaced every Wednesday) I am currently using a Shark Super Chrome blade.

I have on order another VR Shave Cream, two 1 oz bottles of VR Pre-Shave Oil, two 2 oz bottles of VR Aftershave Balm and a Fine Accoutrements Lather Bowl.

So far my favorite part of safety razor shaving has been the lathering process. I’ve been shaving every morning after a hot shower and I’ve found it quite enjoyable to pamper myself this way.

The only issue I’ve been running into is razor burn on my neck. I don’t know if I’m shaving too frequently, or if I’m not doing the right angle or direction, or what might be wrong. I’m hoping the introduction of pre-shave oil and aftershave balm help fight the burn.

As my username suggests I go for a clean-shaven face. I appreciate any insight you might have into my product choices and with regards to shaving practices. Thanks!

Blademonkey

Forum GOD!