Fitness Trackers

Discussion in 'Health, Fitness & Training' started by p.b, Sep 18, 2018.

1. p.b

p.b Forum GOD!

Finally, after several years of promising myself, I have started running in an effort to get fitter, manage stress and lose a couple of inches from my waist. A few people have mentioned getting a fitness tracker to provide motivation (as an engineer I love data and tracking changes etc.) so I’m thinking of getting one.

I already wear a heavy metal wrist watch that I like the look of so I think I either want a small additional strap or maybe it’d be better to simply replace the watch with an attractive watch / tracker.

Anyone here with experience / recommendations? Thanks, Paul.

2. Thug

Thug Forum GOD!

My personal preference would be a watch such as the Garmin Fenix 3 which should be available relatively cheapish since they've launched the Fenix 5.

It looks good, you are able to download multiple different watch faces and it gives you plenty of metrics.

Have a chat to @Rowlers as he has one.

Rowlers and p.b like this.
  3. I just use the standard app thing on my MP3 player for running and distance ect.. Girlfriend has a Garmin watch which I've used in the gym. I've worn it while doing heavy bag work and swimming without any issues. (It's compact and lightweight)
    It does everything you need..it's also touchscreen. I think it may be an old version of a Vivosmart or Vivosport.

4. Nishy

Nishy Forum GOD! Staff Member

5. Holyzeus

Holyzeus Quack Quack

Strava is really good for recording distances/times etc and it uses segments so the run is broken down.
    My Garmin automatically loads down to Strava but I can use an App on the phone
    I have a Fitbit for heart rate etc, it would be nice for one watch to do both simultaneously
    A Garmin watch might

wazza likes this.
  6. halvor

halvor Esquire