DSLR - Your thoughts on this camera please?

Discussion in 'Arts, Literature & Photography' started by Acer89, Jul 29, 2016.

1. Acer89

Acer89 James

Can any of you camera buffs help me out here please?

I'm no expert where photography is concerned. Currently I'm a compact user Canon Powershot SX230HS
    I've seriously been think about purchasing my first DSLR with the added convenience of built in wifi

After much research I've found one that interests me and for a reasonable price. Its the Nikon D5300 Digital SLR Camera with 18-55mm VR II Lens Kit. It has good reviews and appears to tick the right boxes especially considering my budget.

I've yet to understand all the bells and whistles but I can get the camera with AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G VR II lens for under £400

Just to thow a spanner in the works, I'm also looking at the
    Canon EOS 700D Digital SLR Camera (EF-S 18-55 mm f/3.5-5.6 IS STM Lens, 18 MP, CMOS Sensor, 3 inch LCD) which is also within my budget.

In your opinion which would be a better choice for my money?

Before I take the plunge, your thoughts would be very much welcomed. Thank you

Last edited: Jul 30, 2016
  2. PLANofMAN

PLANofMAN Retro Razor Junkie

If you can hold out for a few more months, I would wait for a Black Friday or Cyber Monday sale. That's the best time to purchase a new DLSR camera.

Acer89 likes this.
  3. Acer89

Acer89 James

Good advice... @PLANofMAN Thanks. I was also thinking about an Amazon warehouse deal. They have some new unused but damaged box with full warranty.

Was hoping to spend not much more than £400. Its just so difficult trying to choose.

4. JamieM

JamieM Forum GOD!

5. Rowlers

Rowlers Massive Member Staff Member

I bought the D3300 over the D5300 simply as the 5300 didn't add anything that interested me over the 3300, and I got the latest af-p VR lens, which is faster and quieter... I'm very impressed so far...but I am a DSLR noob!

Acer89 likes this.
  6. DevonStan

DevonStan Forum GOD!