Blades and Dialing in your razor

Scubasteve

So those that don't know , I am new to this and are in the second week and loving De razors!

My question is when I bought my razor , I ordered blade samples as I've read.

So far the astra blades are my blade!
I tried the astras after a few duds I didn't care for! I put the astras in and love them. Anything else I've tried I'm like Nah not for me!

I'm not saying astra greens are the best, but for now best for my razor and skills

So my question is has anyone have had the similar experience? Put the blade in and say that's the razor blade? Done

I've stocked up on the astras while I'm waiting for some voskhods to arrive

Grishnak

Forum GOD!
Yes.
I’m 18 months in and still checking and revisiting blades.
Voskhods are top of my list, followed by Sputnik, Shark SS, and Personna
There are lots in the middle that I am beginning to be able to use as my technique improves, but still don’t hit the mark of those above.
Nacets and Wilkinson Sword are like cheese graters for me.

Batch300

Extraordinarily Uncomplicated
Consider yourself lucky if you found a favorite blade in 2 weeks. A typical member has numerous blade packs with 3 or 4 blades remaining.

Maybe wait a year and try more blades

Scubasteve

Consider yourself lucky if you found a favorite blade in 2 weeks. A typical member has numerous blade packs with 3 or 4 blades remaining.

Maybe wait a year and try more blades
I still need practice and feel.maybe another razor to get a better But feel the astra in the merkur 23 is a goodd
Fit for me, least irritation , least amount of nicks and just has the right feel

sev-8

Forum GOD!
I thought I found my blade in the sampler pack (also Astra SPs), bought 100 of them, then kept sampling different types of blades. I've since found 2 other blades that consistently work better for me than the Astra SPs, but depending on which razor I'm using I can have very different blade preferences

Chris

Forum DOG!
Staff member