Basic fountain pen questions .....

Grarea

Forum Plod
.... For a basic pen for a basic bloke.....
I see many gentlemen have a bit of a range of fountain pens.
I haven't used one for about thirty years I think.

I had a Parker 25 as a kid. Had it for about ten years but it got destroyed soon after my finals :(

I am thinking I would like a reliable sturdy pen for day to day use and am thinking this still kind of fits the bill.
I was wondering (seeing as I have zero knowledge) what else there is around that would be worth a look.

I rather liked the design of the nib. With the rounded tip I thought it was a smooth writer.
But the only other comparisons I had were cheap nibs.
So it is function that I am looking at really. And sturdy. I am guessing metal would be better?

I believe I am right that there is a pretty good range of inks these days. As opposed to 'blue or black sir?'
Which sounds pretty intriguing.

I will be looking to go with bottled ink as opposed to cartridges generally (Although it might be good to be able to use them as back up in a rucksack :) )

Obviously feel free to show pics of yours. (Pens, that is. (please also read that word carefully before you post a pic))

Grarea

Forum Plod
Thanks, I shall.
I just thought of another question.
Are most nibs pretty good these days?
A scratchy nib is a horrible nib.
They used to say that the nib adjusts to how you write. Is that still the same?
(I was going to look at second hand pens mainly)

DamianJ

Forum GOD!
I've only really got experience of the Lamy nibs and Faber Castel nibs, both are excellent in my opinion.

You probably would get some wear of the nib after a lot of writing but someone who was very heavy when writing with a fountain pen would probably wreck it before wearing the nib. I'm not sure I'd let that put me off a second hand pen as long as it was in good condition.