1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Any Excel wizards?

Discussion in 'ATG Cafe' started by wazza, Dec 14, 2016.

1. wazza

wazza a dog got personality

Hi

I need to plot a hysteresis loop on Excel. Normally I'd draw it out but it has to be in Excel apparently.
    These are my figures just to show what I'm after.
    Cant find anything online that helps.
    IMG_9856.JPG

2. chrisbd

chrisbd Forum GOD!

Wazza,
    I'm no expert by any means and it's been a long time since I've had to plot graphs in Excel. I don't know what version you're using but this looks useful:

View: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oZAZj7NIkic

Regards,
    Chris

wazza likes this.
  3. wazza

Appreciate that @chrisbd
    Not quite what Im looking for, the data has to loop back on itself. Cant get my head around it though.

4. chrisbd

chrisbd Forum GOD!

Sorry @wazza, been a little distracted lately, family emergency, Christmas, advancing senility, etc.

I don't know whether you found a solution in the meantime but, as you've found, internet sources are surprisingly thin. I'm not sure whether you're au fait with VBA scripts and subroutines (I'm not) but this looks to be the most useful guidance I've found so far, it may be of some use if you are:

http://www.mrexcel.com/forum/excel-questions/449934-how-create-function-sub-handle-hysteresis.html

Apologies if that's a bum steer, from what I've seen so far Excel doesn't seem to be the ideal tool for hysteresis (hysteretic?) graph plots, although you apparently need the Analysis Toolpak add-in installed, if using Excel 2010 and above (see MS support article below). Hope this helps.

https://support.microsoft.com/en-gb/kb/214269

Regards,
    Chris

wazza likes this.
  5. wazza

Hi
    No worries at all. Hope everything is settling and getting back to normal for you.